Winner of the actual Man Asian Literary Prize 2011

Well colour me surprised. We (the Shadow team), picked the right book!!

Please Look After Mother has won the 2011 Man Asian Literary Prize. Clearly we and the judges have similar (read: good) taste. Woo!

Here’s a picture of Kyung-sook Shin with David Parker. Isn’t it lovely?

Interestingly, a rep came into work today, and we were talking about Korean literature being the Next Big Thing. I wonder if this is the start of a beautiful relationship between Korean literature and the English speaking world?

EDIT: Here’s the official press release.

9 thoughts on “Winner of the actual Man Asian Literary Prize 2011

  1. whisperinggums says:

    Wow, you were quick to get photo in there ‘n all. I had something more general set up and then just filled in the title!

    • Matthew Todd says:

      I was sitting on Twitter waiting for it. ‘Cause I’m cool like that. It was do that, or do my translation assignment due tomorrow. :-)

    • Matthew Todd says:

      I think you meant to put that other comment over here, maybe, Sue? :-)

      Yes, when I say “right,” I do, of course, mean “same.” I can think of at least two or three others on the shortlist that could have been just as “right.”

  2. Will E says:

    Did you hear about Dalkey Archive’s huge upcoming Korean Lit series? They have a deal to publish 25 separate works (fiction and poetry!)

    http://www.koreaherald.com/national/Detail.jsp?newsMLId=20111130000826

    The only Korean lit I’ve read recently was “I Have the Right to Destroy Myself” which was just OK. Any suggestions besides “Please Look After Mother”?

    • Matthew Todd says:

      Wow. That’s a lot of books.

      I read (and reviewed here, somewhere) Kim Young-ha’s other translated novel, Your Republic is Calling You, and thoroughly enjoyed it. I want to read I Have the Right – the concept fascinates me.

      The only other Korean stuff I know is actually written by second or third generation Korean-Americans. Richard E. Kim’s The Martyred, and Chang-rae Lee’s The Surrendered etc. I think that’s the kind of stuff the rep was talking about – we’re seeing a lot of it in store recently.

      Oh, and I’m writing a thesis about Zainichi literature. Heard of this guy? http://ja.wikipedia.org/wiki/%E6%9D%8E%E6%81%A2%E6%88%90

  3. markbooks says:

    Nice winner. I’m pleased about it. Regarding Korean literature, don’t forget Krys Lee’s ‘Drifting House’.

  4. For Korean Lit..

    There are nearly 60 Korean translations reviewed on my KTLIT site:
    http://www.ktlit.com/book-reviews

    “Waxen Wings” is a great collection and the novellas published by KLTI/Jimoondang are quick, easy, and cover a lot of territory..

Leave a Reply

